Acknowledgement of Indigenous Territory

The Local would like to recognize that we are on the traditional territory of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation,  and would like the thank them for the stewardship they provided to these lands.

It is also important to acknowledge other stewards of the land,  credited as parts of their territories over time. The following is by no means a list in totality,  but rather a guide to assist further learning:

The land we now call Oakville,  was recieved as parts of Treaty 14 (13A) in 1806,  and Treaty 22 (Head of the Lake) in 1820.

Great resources to check out:

^ Back to top ^